Hi everyone! I am so glad you have been following me on this blogging journey. I like to make it a habit to embrace and appreciate bad ass women. Thus, I am starting a series of blog posts called “Fierce Females.” In the next few months, we will have the pleasure of reading “almostenough” posts by yoga instructors, models, academics and other really, really amazing women that I admire.

This week, I am posting an article written by one of my oldest friends. Anna is independent and intelligent and has phenomenal fashion sense. Here, she is going to give us all a lesson about holiday style.

Enjoy!

 

 

Hello everyone! My name is Anna De Loache and I am 24 years old. In college I minored in Journalism and definitely have a love for writing, but for my current job, I wholesale ladies clothing. I live and breathe it whether I like it or not! I am definitely not an expert on fashion, but I do have a good idea of what looks good and I especially love picking outfits out for special occasions.

 

With Christmas and New Years Eve approaching faster than we realize, I think it is safe to say that all women (no matter what age) have one question in common: what am I going to wear?  Whether your style is; preppy, conservative, edgy or just completely unique to you, I hope to give you all some fashion advise along with affordable stores to purchase your holiday outfits from. Just to give you an idea of what my style is, I definitely go for the conservative but cute look. My go too this time of year is a pair of spanx tights just about every day, a dress, and either a sweater, poncho or blanket scarf. Even though that is my everyday outfit I am not afraid to dress “edgy” or out of my comfort zone for a certain occasion!

 

Somewhere that is a guarantee go-to for me whenever I need an outfit for any occasion is Ann Taylor Loft. Not only is it affordable, but they have something for everyone. The sizing is great as well because their clothing typically runs bigger so wearing a size smaller when compared to other places is a confident booster in itself! Another convenient thing the Loft offers is three body type options: petite, regular, and tall- there is something for everyone. Below is the dress I bought for Thanksgiving but I have been able to wear it to work and other social events since:

 

AMD1

 

Green Dress

The best way to complete this outfit is with a statement necklace and a cute pair of boots. Pictured below is a necklace that is also from the Loft just to show an example of something to wear to accessorize the dress:

 

AMD2

Necklace 

 

Finally, to complete the outfit, add a pair or boots or booties! Below is a pair from Steve Madden and is available at Dillards in taupe and black. For this particular outfit I would choose the black pair.

AMD3

Boot

 

Another great thing about this outfit is, if you go to church on Christmas eve or Christmas day, it transitions perfectly from church to your holiday festivities!

 

Something else I believe most women have in common is that we like to look great and feel comfortable at the same time. The next outfit I’m focusing on is a swing dress from Anthropologie- BONUS, it is a reasonable price! Its official title is “the turtleneck swing dress” and it comes in a pretty red/blush color. I have not purchased this dress but I do own similar swing dresses and they are vey comfortable.

 

AMD$

Turtle Swing Dress

 

As you can see, the model is also wearing a statement necklace and what seems to be some fabulous snake skin boots. She is surely very comfortable. An outfit like this is perfect for the holidays because, again, you can wear it to work or an evening out for drinks depending on your weather all the way through March! A dress like this is definitely a go-to for those of you who think comfort and style are both equally important!

 

Already have an outfit but feel like its not complete? Not a problem! There are so many options to complete an outfit: think jewelry, jackets, and vests. Something I want to talk about next is my love for vests. I ADORE vests. In fact, I probably have a problem because I own so many. Honestly vests are perfect for any outfit and any occasion. They go great over dresses, a simple top and jeans, and even a pencil skirt with a blouse tucked in. Below is a faux fur vest made by Wayf and is available at Nordstrom:

AMD5

Fur Vest

 

I love this type of vest because you can dress it up or wear it casually. Below is another vest I really like and it also available at Nordstrom:

AMD6

Vest

Finally I want to talk about a fun new years eve outfit you can wear to just about any party you are going to attend! It is casual and dressy at the same time. On the Nordstrom website, it is under the category for New Years Eve dresses but it is so appropriate because along with being a fun dress to wear to a party,  you could definitely get away with wearing it to a casual event too.

AMD7

Dress

 

For some reason, this dress really stands out to me and it also comes in several colors! The best way to make a dress like this more appropriate for a cocktail party is to add a pair of heels like the pair below made by Kate Spade New York, also available at Nordstrom:

AMD8

Shoe

The outfits listed above are just a small portion of what you can do for the holidays, but I hope it will give you some ideas! Shopping for holiday events certainly is not easy, but I think we can all agree that it is fun once we finally find the perfect outfit. Happy holidays!

